The Great Thing About Nothing 

I remember growing up, as the youngest of three children. I was a happy, outgoing little kid, and always, always, needed to be with someone. I didn’t like being on my own at all. Whether it was playing with my sister, or spending time (and possibly annoying) my parents, I remember always having the need for attention and companionship of others. I needed someone to talk to, and someone who would listen. Someone who I could share stories and ideas and adventures with. 

Now that I’m older, (and hopefully quite more mature), I realize just how crucial that interaction was. It shaped me into who I am today. It’s made me quite a bit more talkative than I was to begin with, and has made me able to easily make friends with people. But, again, now that I’m older, I realize that sometimes, I’m still going to have days where that side of me is gone. Where I can just sit alone in my room, sprawled out on my bed amongst the many blanket I own, and I can be perfectly happy. 

You see, the great thing about nothing, about being able to just be with yourself, and feel perfectly content, is that it’s like a little break. It’s “me” time. I was always (and still am) told that I must be in a bad mood if I’m so quiet. But I’m here to tell you that being in this kind of a state isn’t a negative feeling. For me, personally, it’s freeing. I constantly have things on my mind, and often let these things consume me to the point where I get anxious about thinking of what to have for breakfast tomorrow morning. So when I have these random days where my mind is just at ease, and I don’t need interaction to feel happy, it’s one of the most satisfying feelings. 

Within this last year, I also realized something else. Maybe I needed more than just one “no think” day every few months. With how easily I get stressed, and with how much I have to juggle being the average high school student, I decided it was time that I took control. Besides, I may be an extrovert, but having to deal with the atmosphere of my school with all the commotion every day can really wear a person out.    

You can get your “me time” or, “no think” day in a lot of different ways, such as:

  • A spa day. Light some candles or burn incense, play some soothing music, and take a long hot bath.
  • Reading a book or watching tv. Sure, this is still some form of interaction and you aren’t doing “nothing”, but this still gives you the opportunity to have some “me” time. 
  • Going out into nature, and just being one with your surroundings. Sit under a nice shady tree (it’s okay if you fall asleep!)
  • Meditation. Focusing on your inner being, and forgetting the world around you. 
  • And the last, self reflection. A good friend of mine once told me that you are never done improving yourself, and you should spend as much time as you can doing so. 

Self reflection is my personal favorite way tops end a “no think” day (even if it does defeat the purpose of not thinking). I spend a lot of my quiet time reflecting, and thinking of ways to improve my life. And I encourage you to do the same. Because once you fully take control of your own life, it’s so much less stressful, and much more exciting, to continue. 

3 thoughts on “The Great Thing About Nothing 

  1. Oh I get you. Granted, I’m light years your elder, but I value my “me time” just as much as you do. Most people would consider me a friendly, talkative, bubbling, confident, extrovert. And, they’d be right on the money. However, if I didn’t have my “me” time, I wouldn’t be the same happy camper.

    Thankfully, I’ve learned to balance my 24 hours. I love people, and so wouldn’t want to live on a mountain top by myself. What I do prefer though is a “tree house” of symbolic sorts. It’s a place I can go even if I can’t exactly be alone. After all, this planet is populated by over 7 billion people, so we have to be flexible.

    Highest and Best

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

