Fake It Till You Make It- Confidence

Confidence is something everyone struggles with, whether it’s that you have too much, or not enough. If you have too much, well, it can lead to cockiness or arrogance. But lacking it can cause some big issues. 

I’ve struggled with confidence all my life. I have a plethora of reasons for it, too. I was born with cerebral palsy- a disease effecting the way my brain tells my legs to move. (You can search the basics on the Internet. I don’t feel like making this into a medical report.) Having this disability causes more issues than you’d think. I also struggled with my school subjects (and still do). There were a lot of reasons why I was losing confidence; but only one way to gain it back. 

A little bird once told me that the key to being truly happy and confident is believing it. You are in control of your own body and emotions. Sure, outside influences will come along, but it’s ultimately up to you how you react. Even if you have to fake it. Walk past that staring crowd with your eyes forward and head up. Smile at the people who say those mean things to you. Being the bigger and better person is always the best option, anyway. Look at yourself in the mirror, and don’t be afraid to say “I love myself”. 

It took me a while to hit that last step. And although I said that confidence is up to you, there are positive outside influences that can help tremendously. Find someone who sees the good in you. Someone who wants nothing more to see you succeed, and who challenges you every day to be the best person you can. And when you find this person/s? Never let them go. 

Confidence is a crucial part of being happy. Gain confidence, and you can conquer the world. Wake up every day with a smile on your face, and a gleam in your eye. The world is yours; so take it. 

4 thoughts on “Fake It Till You Make It- Confidence

  1. Hey Julie, it’s Mom 🙂 I read your whole blog and am very proud of you. Having this will help get your feelings and emotions out and I am sure help others who feel the same way, we all do actually, you are not alone, as I have said to you before. You are a very strong individual and have been through so much, but just know I am “ALWAYS” and I mean “ALWAYS” here for you and don’t ever forget it. If it hurts you, it hurts me. If it makes you happy, it makes me happy too. I love you with all my heart and wish you much success with this blog and everything life has in store for you. ❤ Life is tough that's for sure and you have a long road ahead of you, just know you have your family and friends and we all care very much for and we "Got Your Back!" ~You are not alone. Luv u Sweetheart!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This was a lovely and uplifting post! I’m an introvert, but like you, I’ve learned to ignore what people think of me (or perhaps it’s only what I perceive them to be thinking). I just go about my business and look people in the eye when I’m out in public. I have quite a few years on you, and I do believe that time and age help with confidence. Once I hit 40 years old, I really didn’t care about what others thought of me because I’m comfortable with myself now. Well, not completely, but you know what I mean. Just like your title says “Fake it till you make it”. Awesome.

    Even though I’m old enough to be your mom (who is very sweet, by the way…judging by her comment), I’m going to follow you because you have a great writing style. Very down-to-earth and easy to relate to.

    Keep it up! You’re doing a great job so far 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

