How to get what you want 

It’s easy to get caught up in the vision of where you’d like to be in the future. The end goal can be so intoxicating that we forget about what it will take to get there. A good friend of mine recently faced this struggle. My advice to him? Know where you want to go, but focus on how to get there first. 

In the society we live in, it’s easy to view television ads, read articles, and meet people who seemingly have their lives perfected. They have everything together, but that’s only what they project. How did they get to where they are now? Sure, some people might be born into a wealthy or otherwise successful lifestyle, but let’s face it. That’s rare. For us everyday people, we must learn to set goals to get where and what we want. 

I was never one to have a productive lifestyle, create a schedule, plan, etc. but now that I’m older, and have people around me in the same situations, it’s become more clear what I need to do. If you’re someone like me who tends to be more on the lazy side, that’s perfectly okay. Find a plan that works for you, and stay true to it until you get the end result you want. 

Start small. Rome wasn’t built in a day, and you aren’t going to get where you want to be without stepping stones. Let’s use my life and goals as an example. My end goal is to move in with my boyfriend ( /future family) and have a successful job doing something in psychology. To get there? My first goal is to get out of highschool. Whatever your first goal is, take that and make it even smaller. What, within this first goal, do you have to focus on? For me it’s passing math (blegh). So, focus on the task that will help you complete the goal, and then once it’s done you can move on to the next with one less thing to worry about. 

An easy way to start is to create a tangible schedule or routine of what you need to get done for that day. Starting off with small, easy tasks like this will help you prepare for making a larger goals. 

The most successful people in the world didn’t get to where they are by just hoping that they would stumble upon the life. They had to work for it. And so do you. Keep the end result in mind, but focus on the steps to get there; the smaller the better (and easier!). Stick with your plan. What will it take to complete each task? Focus on each microgoal and continue from there. And most importantly, if something should happen to not work out the way you planned, take longer than expected or prove to be more challenging? Ask yourself, “do I really want to work for this? Will pushing through this benefit me, even if the end result could change?” You can get anywhere you want in life. You just have to know where you want to go, and how to get there. 

One thought on “How to get what you want 

  1. Let me set the scene. It was the summer of my sophomore year of high school. I was sitting in my room playing my prized oboe. (I liked to refer that as my ME time!!) I always wanted to be an oboist. I was a young scamp, full of dreams, full of ideas, full of life. The nuns at my school warned me about college and I knew I NEEDED to make a desicion about what I wanted to do with my life. Now me, I didn’t want to give up my oboe. I wanted to make something more out of my love for this woodwind instrument. My silly teenage mind told me to pursue my dream of being an oboist and be an oboist full time! I KNEW my papa would be upset because he would pester me and say “RONDA! That isn’t a REAL job!” I just HAD to prove Papa wrong… I had to. I wanted to play under the bright sparkly lights in the Big Apple and be in a HUGE orchestra. Just thinking about it STILL gives me goose bumps. I was just so set on being a famous oboist I took a train to NEW YORK CITY (keep in mind that I was ALONE!! Totally too dangerous to do now. DO NOT RECOMMEND) 3 months after my life changing desicion in the mid 60’s. I saved up ALL my money to get this ticket through my summer job of being a life guard. Also, my dear cousin who was 15 years older than me lives in New York City and I had talked to her about staying there. Haha, let’s just say Papa found out and he wasn’t too pleased!! I didn’t tell me what I had done until I was there!! I told him I was going to a slumber party at my dear friend Susan’s house. Let’s just say I don’t live in New York!! Haha, I laugh about this now but I wasn’t laughing back then lemme tell ya. Oh no! I’m rambling. Silly me! I’ll leave you for now! Can’t wait for the new post!
    Love you lots!
    Your favorite oboist,
    Ronda.

    Like

Leave a Reply

