The shadow experience

Today I shadowed the middle school guidance counselor. My intention was to get some more information about college, obtaining a psychology degree, etc., but it wound up diving much deeper than that. 

Things that I’ve learned from my “shadowing”: 

Don’t be lazy. If you want to obtain something, complete a goal, get past an obstacle: You. Can. Not. Be. Lazy. The life you want is not going to be handed to you on a silver platter. You must work for it. 

Not everyone is good at everything, but that doesn’t mean give up. I am fully aware that I do not understand math. Everyone has things they struggle with. What’s important is that you don’t give up trying to learn it. 

Find a method that works for you. Some subjects are harder than others, and some take more work or a different approach. Find the method that works for you. (I suggest writing your own notes and using highlighters). 

College is going to be hard. College may seem like it’s going to be easier because you have more freedom, but “with great power comes great responsibility”. As you go from kindergartener to a college student, the work becomes more independent. 

And most importantly, ask for help. Something I’m guilty of not doing. I wasted a lot of my time struggling when I could’ve been asking for help and understanding my work. Don’t be afraid to speak out.  

Life is going to get tougher as you get older. It’s inevitable. But don’t give up. If I can do it, so can you. 


One thought on “The shadow experience

  1. Oh my Julie.. My sweet sweet Julie I have been waiting for your post since I commented on your last one! My younger brother Raul had a bad instance with his high school counselor!! I would say he was around 16 or 17 when he got his first and used car from my papa. Let’s just say he wasn’t very good at it!! Papa would allow to drive to and from school. One day my foolish sibling Raul was driving a little too fast in the school parking lot while his counselor (I believe his name was Mr. Erkenstein) was walking through the parking lot when BAM! Raul HIT the teacher! Oh my goodness when Papa told me what had happen my heart dropped. I thought he killed he poor man. How could Raul be so inattentive?! I was DEFINITELY the more responsible sibling LOL. Mr. Erkenstein suffered from 3 broken bones and of course Papa had to pay the medical bills and he was NOT happy! Raul’s car was taken away for a year. My family could’ve starred in a sitcom with all the crazy stuff that goes down! Haha I love recalling these past memories of mine they always leave me smiling and so do you!
    Love your Aunt Ronda

    Like

Leave a Reply

