Ways to not be a Barbie 

We live in a world where (unfortunately) we are judged. Every day we view magazines, ads, tv shows, and social media, and every day we are subjected to the same message. If you want to get anywhere in life, you have to be “perfect”. Perfect hair, eyebrows, teeth. Perfect body, perfect job, perfect partner. Every day the vision of what we should have is stronger than what we do have.You* have been programmed to shun those who have less, or more than you do, and ultimately, this is a major issue in our current time. 

Back in the Renaissance, the  or even other time periods closer to now, it was a good thing to be unique. People were noticed for their individual talents, and people just seemed happier. Now in the 21st century, people are envious. We crave the fame that others have. We are always looking for the new and best thing because that’s what society and the marketing companies say we need. 

It doesn’t have to be this way, though. People have started to embrace themselves again, but a few here and there is not enough. We need more people to realize that you are beautiful just the way you are. You do not need to look like the woman on the cover of that magazine with airbrushed skin and a model’s body. You are fine as you are- flaws and all. After all, flaws are the thing that set you apart from everyone else. And I don’t know about you, but I’d rather be my own self than a carbon copy. 

Find what makes you, you. Accentuate it. Flaunt it. Compliment people on the things that make them unique. Together we can make a difference, and continue as a more positive generation. 

*not everyone is like this. There are some people out there that still value being unique and standing out. You rock! 

One thought on “Ways to not be a Barbie 

  1. I love this. No ONE has to be perfect. I couldn’t have said it better myself baby doll. I have a crazy story that involves one of those cursed Barbie dolls! Now let me tell ya… I LOVE milkshakes. And I don’t use straws because I like to get everything in at once. My brother Raul is a tricker. He knew I played with Barbies so he decided to rip apart my favorite doll. He took the hand off the Barbie and put it on my drink when I wasn’t looking… And long story short…. I drank it. I loved that doll but not enough for it to be inside of me. I almost CHOKED. I’m still not over this. I gave Raul a good spanking though so I think he learned his lesson! Everytime I bring it up to him now he cackles. I had a lot of CRAZY times in my youth. Sadly, they’re just memories. Even though I’m bed ridden, I still find joy through the experiences of others. And of course MY CATS.
    Love you lots sweaty 🙂
    Virtual Aunt Ronda

    Like

Leave a Reply

