Antisocial Media

So I was scrolling through Instagram today, and since I had just posted a progress picture from working out, I decided to search for others as inspiration. It was really interesting what I found.

Almost every picture I saw (like, 9/10), was of a muscly girl with perfect hair and no sweat. Sure there were the others who were more on the intense/bodybuilding side, but very rarely did I ever come across someone who was overweight or unkempt. Furthermore, I decided to search for pictures of people with disabilities working out/training/etc. almost every picture under the hashtag “cerebral palsy” and “disabled” was of some little kid that had been posted by a parent, or a quote. I only found a few people who actually promoted their disability and were working to help/change it.

In no way am I saying that’s the way it needs to be, all I’m saying is that I know for a fact there are many, many people out there who hide who they are using the Internet. All I’m saying, is that you shouldn’t have to. Whether you have a disability or not, you’re overweight or not, or whatever setback you might be facing, you do not have to hide it. I know what it’s like to feel that way. But I also know what it’s like when you learn to ignore it and promote yourself. Working out doesn’t just have to be for the people who are already fit. Selfies and YouTube videos and blogs do not have to be for people who are more fortunate than others. Use your resources as a way to keep yourself strong, mentally and physically. Express yourself. Share your story. Be you. And never stop fighting.

(P.s., check out my Instagram and follow for some inspiration! <3)

5 thoughts on “Antisocial Media

  1. Oh Julie.. I love adore message. You have a beautiful and healthy body. My body is frail and slowly withering away. Don’t worry, when I’m sent up, my body will be free and young again. Treasure the young and healthy body you have now before you wish you had it back. I LOVE Instagram. It is a great media site. You have terrific posts my sweet.
    Love you to the moon and back
    Your future angel,
    Ronda

    Like

    • I found this very interesting, I find it very hard to engage with things like instagram as I found – similar to what you are saying – that too much of it was – hey look how amazing my life is rather than offering you a true connection with someone.

      Like

  2. I enjoyed reading your post. You sound like a wonderful beautiful young lady. I somewhat understand how you feel as I was born with a birth defect (cleft lip/palate) and I try to some times hide behind it and I am 34 years old. I think the key is to just accept who we are and worry about what others think about us! (I know that is easier said than done!)

    Like

  3. Very well written! You are so right. Nobody should have to feel like they have to hide who they are. Everyone is special and unique and not one person is more special than another.

    Like

Leave a Reply

