National Cerebral Palsy Awareness Month! 

Guys! Im totally gonna act like I didn’t just find this out like an hour ago, but March is National Cerebral Palsy Awareness Month! I thought now would be as good a time as ever to talk about one of the things that makes me so unique. 

WARNING: The following post is 100% my own views, thoughts and opinions. I am not an expert on CP. Don’t get your legs in a twist. Haha. See what I did there?

Cerebral Palsy is a disability that affects the way the brain tells your limbs to function, and in some cases, may hinder motor skills/speech etc. I’m not going to get into the details of it, because again, I’m not a doctor. 

I’ve had CP ever since I was born. Its affected my life a whole heck of a lot, but hey, it’s who I am, and I wont fight that. People stare, and sometimes they’ll ask questions(which is totally cool!) or…They just keep staring, which isn’t so nice. Us people with disabilities like it when you inquire about the funny way our legs move, or why we use that weird cane thingy. Just don’t be rude about it, okay? 

And on that note, having a disability makes being an adult extremely hard. Wanna get hired someone? Automatically cross off all the jobs that say “you must be able to lift/move this amount” because you’re going to walk (or hobble, or roll) into that interview and they’re going to turn their noses up. Having a disability really makes finding jobs difficult. Luckily there are a lot of online/ at home jobs that we can sign up for. 

I’ve been fortunate enough to be one of the disabled who’s only been stared at or turned away from a job, and not one of the ones who has been bullied. If you happen to be one of those people reading right now, know this: I am so proud of you. You are special. You are loved. You are an inspiration. Keep your chin up. 

It hurts me a lot to know how uneven the playing field is when it comes to Us disabled people, but things are changing. More opportunities are created every day to make things easier on Us, and I will be a part of it. 

And you can be too. Know that we are Just As Able as anyone else, we just have our own ways of doing things sometimes. And hey, everyone is different and everyone is unique. We are all a piece of the puzzle, but it won’t work unless we fit together. ❤

Leave a Reply

